11 from SEC Named Campbell Trophy Semifinalists

about an hour ago
SEC Staff

Photo: ESPN Images

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (Sept. 29, 2021) – Eleven Southeastern Conference football student-athletes have been named semifinalists for the 2021 William V. Campbell Trophy®, it was announced Wednesday by the National Football Foundation (NFF) and College Hall of Fame.

Now in its 32nd year, the Campbell Trophy® recognizes an individual as the absolute best football scholar-athlete in the nation for his combined academic success, football performance and exemplary leadership.

The 11 SEC semifinalists are Chris Owens (Alabama), Grant Morgan (Arkansas), Anders Carlson (Auburn), Jeremiah Moon (Florida), Luke Fortner (Kentucky), Avery Atkins (LSU), Ben Brown (Ole Miss), Austin Williams (Mississippi State), Tyler Badie (Missouri), Spencer Eason-Riddle (South Carolina) and Matthew Butler (Tennessee). A total of 176 semifinalists nationwide were named, including 79 from the Football Bowl Subdivision.

The NFF will announce 12-14 finalists on Oct. 27, and each finalist will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the 2021 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class Presented by Fidelity Investments. The finalists will travel to the 63rd NFF Annual Awards Dinner in Las Vegas on Dec. 7, and one member of the class will be declared as the winner of the 32nd Campbell Trophy® and have his postgraduate scholarship increased to $25,000.

Schools may submit one nominee for the award, and candidates must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of playing eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

The SEC leads all conferences with eight Campbell Trophy® recipients since its inception in 1990. The most recent winner from the SEC was Alabama’s Barrett Jones in 2012.

William V. Campbell Trophy® – SEC Semifinalists
Chris Owens, Alabama
Grant Morgan, Arkansas
Anders Carlson, Auburn
Jeremiah Moon, Florida
Luke Fortner, Kentucky
Avery Atkins, LSU
Ben Brown, Ole Miss
Austin Williams, Mississippi State
Tyler Badie, Missouri
Spencer Eason-Riddle, South Carolina
Matthew Butler, Tennessee

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *