Four from SEC on 2022 Nancy Lieberman Award Watch List

7 hours ago
SEC Staff

Photo: Phil Ellsworth | ESPN Images

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. (Oct. 25, 2021) – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced today the 20 watch list candidates for the 2022 Nancy Lieberman Award, including four SEC student-athletes. Now in its 23rd year, the award recognizes the top point guard in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates. To be considered for the award, candidates exhibit the floor leadership, playmaking and ball-handling skills of Class of 1996 Hall-of-Famer Nancy Lieberman.

College basketball fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds. In late January, the watch list of 20 players for the 2022 Nancy Liberman Point Guard of the Year Award will be narrowed to 10 and then in late February to just five. In March the five finalists will be presented to Ms. Lieberman and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee where a winner will be selected.

The winner of the 2022 Nancy Lieberman Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Women’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award, the Katrina McClain Power Forward Award and the Lisa Leslie Center Award, in addition to the Men’s Starting Five. 

2022 Nancy Lieberman Point Guard of the Year Award Candidates*

Dyaisha Fair                                                     Buffalo

Ali Patberg                                                       Indiana

Caitlin Clark                                                     Iowa

Jazmine Massengill                                         Kentucky

Hailey Van Lith                                                Louisville

Ashley Owusu                                                 Maryland

Amy Dilk                                                          Michigan

Myah Taylor                                                    Mississippi State

Anastasia Hayes                                            Mississippi State

Raina Perez                                                   NC State

Diamond Johnson                                          NC State

Veronica Burton                                             Northwestern

Te-Hina Pao Pao                                           Oregon

Lauren Park-Lane                                         Seton Hall

Destanni Henderson                                     South Carolina

Lauren Heard                                                TCU

Gina Conti                                                     UCLA

Paige Bueckers                                            UConn

Dru Gylten                                                    Utah

Katia Gallegos                                              UTEP

*Players can play their way onto and off the list at any point in the 2021-22 season

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *