Three From SEC Named Wuerffel Trophy Semifinalists

2 hours ago
SEC Staff

Photo: ESPN Images

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (Nov. 3, 2021)—–Three Southeastern Conference football student-athletes have been named semifinalists for the Wuerffel Trophy, according to an announcement Wednesday.

Mississippi State’s Austin Williams, Georgia’s Nakobe Dean and Ole Miss’ Mac Brown were named among nine other semifinalists for college football’s premier award for community service. The Wuerffel Trophy, named for former Florida Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Danny Wuerffel, is presented annually to the Football Bowl Subdivision player who best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement.

Nominations for the Wuerffel Trophy are submitted by each school. Three finalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 23, and the formal announcement of the 2021 Wuerffel Trophy recipient is scheduled for Dec. 9 on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN. The presentation of the 2021 Wuerffel Trophy will occur on Feb. 25 at the 53rd All Sports Association Awards Banquet in Fort Walton Beach.

There have been six Wuerffel Trophy winners from the SEC since the award’s inception in 2005, most recently Courtney Love of Kentucky in 2017.

The 2021 Wuerffel Trophy semifinalists are: Kekaula Kaniho (Boise State), James Empey (BYU), Austin Williams (Mississippi State), Sean Clifford (Penn State), Isaiah Sanders (Stanford), Elijah Hicks (California), Nakobe Dean (Georgia), Mac Brown (Ole Miss), Patrick Fields (Oklahoma), Mo Hasan (USC), Brock Hoffman (Virginia Tech) and Mike Caliendo (Western Michigan).

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *