Nominations are now closed for upcoming North Lanarkshire Council election

Nominations have closed for subsequent month’s North Lanarkshire Council election, with a complete of 142 candidates standing for the 77 posts on the Civic Centre.

The SNP is fielding 43 candidates and Labour has 42, whereas the Conservatives are equally on the poll paper in all 21 wards throughout the authority.

Also looking for residents’ votes on May 5 are seven unbiased candidates, seven from the Green celebration, six Alba representatives, 5 from the Scottish Family Party, three Liberal Democrats, two from UKIP and one every from British Unionists, Freedom Alliance, Independence for Scotland, Social Democratic and Scottish Socialist events.

The Lanarkshire Live app is on the market to obtain now.

Get all of the information out of your space – in addition to options, leisure, sport and the newest on Lanarkshire’s restoration from the coronavirus pandemic – straight to your fingertips, 24/7.

The free obtain options the newest breaking information and unique tales, and means that you can customise your web page to the sections that matter most to you.

Head to the App Store and by no means miss a beat in Lanarkshire – iOS Android

Jim Logue, the chief of the council for the previous six years, is bidding for re-election in Airdrie Central and can turn into the one member of the primary North Lanarkshire meeting from its 1995 creation to stay in workplace if returned subsequent month.

The SNP group is led by Bellshill councillor Jordan Linden, who says his group is “an administration in waiting” as they intention to take management of the council for the primary time in its historical past; whereas the Conservative celebration is led into the 2022 election by Airdrie North consultant Sandy Watson.

Each ward in North Lanarkshire will return both three or 4 councillors, chosen beneath the one transferable vote system, with the most-contested areas being Coatbridge North and Cumbernauld South with 9 candidates every – in comparison with Airdrie South the place there are simply 5 candidates for 4 seats.

Five former councillors are amongst these bidding to return to the Civic Centre subsequent month, together with former provost Barry McCulloch, who’s standing in Cumbernauld East, and Labour colleague Michael Ross in Motherwell South-East & Ravenscraig.

They are joined by two former SNP elected members now standing beneath completely different banners – Willie Homer of the Scottish Socialists in Cumbernauld South and Independence for Scotland candidate Julie McAnulty in Coatbridge North – plus Murdostoun Conservative candidate Linsey McKay, who was the celebration’s first-ever North Lanarkshire councillor when she was returned in 2007.

Meanwhile, two councillors are aiming to maneuver to completely different wards, with Labour member Peter Kelly switching from Fortissat to Airdrie South, and David Baird of Alba bidding for election in Bellshill moderately than his present Mossend & Holytown seat.

Nearly a 3rd of North Lanarkshire’s present members should not standing for re-election, with 24 stepping down from their roles – together with depute provost Tom Castles in Coatbridge West and respective finance and enterprise conveners Bob Burrows and Allan Graham.

Also standing down from the administration Labour group are founding council member Harry Curran, Fortissat consultant Claire Quigley and Motherwell councillors Olivia Carson and Pat O’Rourke.

Former SNP group chief David Stocks is retiring and Airdrie Central celebration colleague Nancy Pettigrew can be stepping down, together with Junaid Ashraf in Cumbernauld South, Caroline Stephen in Coatbridge West and Motherwell trio Alan and Annette Valentine and Ann Weir.

Conservative councillors David Cullen in Airdrie North and Calum Currie in Cumbernauld North are standing down attributable to work commitments, whereas former group chief Meghan Gallacher ends her council time period following her election to Holyrood.

Independent member Tommy Morgan, the long-serving former Labour consultant in Plains and later Airdrie North, is stepping down after greater than 35 years as a councillor on North Lanarkshire and predecessor Monklands District Council.

Also not showing on the poll papers this time round are independents Willie Doolan, Gillian Fannan, Angela Feeney, Stephen Goldsack and Mark Kerr, and Lynne Anderson of the Alba celebration.

North Lanarkshire residents – together with younger individuals aged 16 and 17 – have till midnight on April 18 to register to vote within the council ballot on Thursday, May 5 at, utilizing their nationwide insurance coverage quantity, date of delivery and tackle.

Voters then have till 5pm on April 19 to use for brand new postal votes, postal proxy votes or to amend or cancel current postal and proxy votes; whereas the deadline for proxy vote purposes is 5pm on April 26. Information is on the market at

Returning officer Des Murray stated: “It’s important that everyone who is eligible is able to use their vote in the council elections and make their voice heard.

“I would encourage residents to take a few minutes to make sure they’re registered by April 18 – it’s quick and easy to do online.”

*Don’t miss the newest headlines from round Lanarkshire. Sign as much as our newsletters right here.

And do you know Lanarkshire Live had its personal app? Download yours without cost right here.

Source hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.