Carl Wayne Buntion execution – Texas death row inmate to be killed tomorrow after parole board votes AGAINST clemency

States that abolished the demise penalty

The demise penalty is prohibited in 23 states and the District of Columbia, based on the Death Penalty Information Center.

States that would not have the demise penalty embrace: Alaska, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, and Wisconsin, in addition to the District of Columbia.

Virginia legislatively abolished the demise penalty in 2021 and Colorado did the identical in 2020.

Three states – California, Oregon and Pennsylvania – have imposed moratoria, or short-term suspensions, on executions.

Source hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.