Munster U-20 hurling round-up: Tipp end Cork’s three-in-a-row dream

TIPPERARY ended Cork’s quest for a 3 in a row of All-Ireland U-20 hurling titles as they defeated them by two factors within the Munster semi-final at FBD Semple Stadium in Thurles.

ipp dominated the opening half and Peter McGarry’s sixth-minute purpose obtained them up and operating.

The sides have been degree after quarter-hour however then Tipp took management with John Campion scoring their second purpose whereas McGarry was inches vast with one other effort. Jack Leamy chipped in with three factors from play for a 2-12 to 0-9 half-time lead.

Cork hit three of the primary 4 scores after half-time, however Tipp dug in, helped by two Paddy Creedon factors and an impressive defensive show.

However, the Rebels saved battling away with sub Diarmuid Healy twice on track they usually lowered the margin to 3 factors as Tipp grew to become wasteful.

However, late factors from sub Michael Corcoran, Jack Leamy and Creedon noticed them over the road with Colin Walsh’s injury-time purpose being mere comfort for Cork.

SCORERS – Tipperary: J Campion 1-2; J Leamy (1f), Ok Shelly (5f) 0-5 every; P Creedon 0-4; P McGarry 1-0; E Connolly 0-2; E Ryan, M Corcoran 0-1 every. Cork: B O’Sullivan, B Cunningham (3f, 1 ‘65); C Walsh 1-1; S Walsh, D Healy 0-3 every; D Hogan 0-2; E Twomey, L Horgan, J Cahalane, D Flynn (f) 0-1 every.

Tipperary – P Williams; C Cadell, C O’Dwyer, L Shanahan; C Quinn, J Armstrong, C McKelvey; D Stakelum, J Campion; E Connolly, P McGarry, E Ryan; Ok Shelly, J Leamy, P Creedon. Subs: M Corcoran for McKelvey (49), C Fogarty for Ryan (52), S Kenneally for Shelly (57), J Keller for McGarry (58), T Cahill for Connolly (60+4).

Cork – B Saunderson; E Downey, D O’Leary, C Smyth; B O’Connor, E Twomey, L Horgan; B O’Sullivan, C McCarthy; B Keating, S Walsh, B Cunningham; C Walsh, D Hogan, J Cahalane. Subs: D Flynn for C Walsh (inj 24), M Howell for Horgan (h-t), C Walsh for Keating (45), D Healy for Cunningham (48), D O’Sullivan for O’Leary (inj 60+1).

Ref – N Malone (Clare).

Limerick 0-27 Waterford 3-15

LIMERICK are into the Munster U-20 hurling last after seeing off a late Waterford goal-fest on the Gaelic Grounds.

Aidan O’Connor top-scored for Limerick with 0-10 (5f) whereas Adam English and Shane O’Brien chipped in with 5 apiece.

Limerick hit eight factors in a row to begin the second half after the perimeters went in on the break all sq. at 0-11 every.

However, it was Limerick that began the second half on hearth.

English obtained the scoring underneath manner with two wonderful efforts from play after which Colin Coughlan made it a three-point lead.

O’Connor then fired over 4 on the bounce to extend Limerick’s benefit to seven factors. O’Brien quickly had it at eight earlier than Cian Rellis fired in Waterford’s first purpose to go away the rating at 0-19 to 1-11 after 43 minutes.

Jake Foley and Patrick Fitzgerald additionally fired late targets for Waterford however Limerick have been to not be denied a spot within the provincial last but once more.

Scorers – Limerick: A O’Connor 0-10 (5f); S O’Brien, A English 0-5 every; E Stokes, C Coughlan 0-2 every; D O’Dalaigh, C Thomas, P Kirby 0-1 every. Waterford: A Ryan 0-8 (5f, 1’65); Patrick Fitzgerald 1-2 (1-0f); C Rellis, J Foley 1-0 every; S Fitzgerald, J Booth, W Beresford, Pádraig Fitzgerald, S Callaghan 0-1 every.

Limerick – C Hanley Clarke; C Thomas, F O’Connor, E O’Leary; C Scully, E Hurley, C Coughlan; J Quilty, J Sweeney; A English, A O’Connor, E Stokes; S O’Brien, P Kirby, D O’Dalaigh. Subs: P Kirby for Sweeney (h-t), B Duff for Scully (50), B O’Meara for Quilty (54), P Reale for O’Dalaigh (61).

Waterford – C Troy; C Foley, R Furlong, J Fitzgerald; J Booth, M Fitzgerald, R Power; S Fitzgerald, W Beresford; A Ryan, S Callaghan, S Walsh; C Barry, Patrick Fitzgerald, Padraig Fitzgerald; Subs: C Rellis for Callaghan (38), J Foley for Berry (48), E O’Brien for S Fitzgerald (55).

Ref – C Doyle (Tipperary).

Source hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.